Curried Beans

Curried Beans

Curried Beans

This is a delicious dish that you can serve as a cold salad; it can also be stored for quite a while in the refrigerator in jars. A lot of people will immediately say no thank you when they see the word BEANS, I usually did, but this is delicious. You might even find yourself with a jar and spoon in front of the fridge at random times, such as middle of the night…

I got this recipe from my mother, not sure where she got it, but will always think of her when I make this.

When growing up I was never keen on bottled food, usually it all tasted like vinegar and felt like something you only get at funny markets. However, I do believe this ‘bottled food’ has taken a complete new direction of tasty gourmet type foods that you only get at delis and special markets. This is how I feel about the curried beans, they are special, fresh, tasty, delicious, and easy to make, easy to store and can be a great gift and easily fill a gap on a plate if you are in a hurry!

I made the curried beans for the first time myself this week and can see I will soon be doing it again before the end of the year.. my husband loves it so that is a plus! I used a 4 litre pot and by the end of the recipe it was about two thirds full. Make sure that you have enough empty glass jars available as well as space in your fridge.

CURRIED BEANS

Ingredients

2 cans of beans in a tomato sauce (try to get different shapes and sizes of beans)

2 cans of kidney beans (drained)

2 cans of green beans drained (chopped to be shorter, cut them in thirds if they don’t come chopped)

2 onions, chopped

2 peppers (green or red), chopped in strips

  • You can add another 2 cans of beans in tomato sauce to lengthen the recipe – I did this)

Curry sauce:

2 cups grape vinegar (can use normal white vinegar if you do not have grape vinegar)

1 ½ cups sugar

½ cup water (dissolve the corn starch in the cold water before adding it to the warm sauce)

50 ml apricot jam

4 teaspoons mild curry powder

1 teaspoon fine ginger

1 teaspoon turmeric

½ teaspoon fine coriander

65g tomato paste

1 teaspoon salt

60ml corn starch to thicken

Method:

Mix all curry sauce ingredients together in pot on stove over medium heat. Stir until sugar has melted and the mixture starts to cook, let it boil for another 5 minutes. Switch stove off. Add beans and carefully mix. Bottle and place in fridge when it has cooled off.

It is that easy. This will make great homemade Christmas gifts. It is also great in summer as it tastes fresh and cool. Let me know what you think of this when you have made it as I am extremely excited about this special little recipe!

M@Home

Curried Beans in a jar

Curried Beans in a jar

Curried Beans - great as a salad

Curried Beans – great as a salad

