Growing tomatoes – container gardening

Tomato plants

Tomato plants

My tomato seeds have sprouted! I am happy to announce that tiny tomato plants are the latest addition to our container garden. Soon we will be eating salads with our home grown salad leaves, peppers and tomatoes.

I am eager to see how these plants will look when bigger, how big they will grow and how they will grow in containers on a porch. I have heard tomatoes can grow quite wild, so this will be a complete new trial.

When I started to read up on growing tomatoes I saw that you need to dry the seeds and then plant them the next year. I did not want to wait that long so I took cherry tomatoes which I had in the fridge from our local shop, I cut them open and squished them out into the ground. It took a good few weeks, but now we have quite a few small plants shooting up. It is also amazing to see the first two leaves looking completely different than tomato leaves. When the second pair of leaves started to grow I could finally recognize the tomato leaf, a relief that I’m not seeing weeds grow!

To plant:

1. have a bucket ready with holes in the bottom to drain excess water

2. add soil to the bucket, I used a good balanced potting soil

3. add a bit of bonemeal as fertilizer

4. add the tomato seeds (I used them straight from the fresh tomato)

5. cover with a bit of soil

6. water

Make sure you water regularly and that the seeds get enough sun.

I also dried some seeds and will soon give you an update on those as they have just been planted as well.

I did not push the seeds apart when I planted them as I did not feel like touching the jelly inside part of the tomatoes… so now all my new plants are growing on a heap. I will have to space them out when they get bigger and I replant them.

It is exciting to see the plants grow, I will post photos of them, also when we replant them. hopefully it is not too long before we have our first tomato harvest. This will also be a trial to see how many tomato plants we need to have enough tomatoes for our salad and cooking usage. I tried planting beans in a container once but we ate the whole harvest in one go, so I do hope the tomatoes are much more successfull!

M@Home

See updated articles:

1. Seeds starting to grow.

2. Replanting tomato plants.

Potting Soil

Potting Soil

Bonemeal

Bonemeal

Fill container with soil

Fill container with soil

Water

Water

Water well

Water well

First sprout popping up

First sprout popping up

Few to follow

Few to follow

More tomato plants!

More tomato plants!

Tomato plants

Tomato plants

