Coffee and rusks for breakfast

Honey glazed roasted almond slither rusks

Honey glazed roasted almond slither rusks

There is something profound in getting up extra early, having rusks and coffee hearing the birds and the world outside waking up. It is a slow rise and time to be quiet be at peace, relax.

When my friend immigrated to England she said she found a lot of people don’t know rusks. It is a dry biscuit, usually rectangular shape, hard to eat on its own, so you dip it into your coffee. It is delicious. I usually munch on them like a horse as I don’t enjoy the crumbs drifting in my coffee, but I must admit a dipped rusk tastes extra great.

This is a new tradition we started in our home, rise early, have coffee and rusks and wake up at our own pace. Then we can start with all the morning rituals that needs to be done and have breakfast just before we are off to work.

This weekend we tried a trial rusk from a shop, it is too sweet, but was something different and absolutely gorgeous. Honey-glazed roasted almond slithers covered the tops of the rusks! Beautiful, I had to photograph them.

Now on to the coffee. There is nothing as good as an absolutely delicious coffee, strong with good flavour. We had a Nespresso machine (see my product review) available to use this weekend. I must say I was impressed.

I have read some blogs where people addressed coffee as their longtime friend, as their confident, their comforter. I must say I agree, it does create that ambiance/environment of the familiar and cosy comfort.

Hope you enjoy the photos!

M@Home

Nespresso coffee

Nespresso coffee

Nespresso Coffee

Nespresso Coffee

Almond Rusks

Almond Rusks

Coffee with froth

Coffee with froth

