Product review – Nespresso U coffee machine with Milk frother

Nespresso coffee machine

Nespresso coffee machine

We got to use a Nespresso U&Milk Pure Cream machine for a weekend. I must say it was a treat. In this post I will give a description of our experience. I was pleasantly surprised. It is easy, quick, clean and perfect every time. What more can one need?

– This little machine has a motorized brewing unit with automatic piercing, brewing and ejection of the used capsules. It is easy, you insert the coffee pod into the machine, slide over the lever button and your coffee prepares itself, perfect.

– The machine comes with three pre-programmed cup sizes (25ml for Ristreto, 40ml for espresso, 110ml for Lungo), so at the quick press of a button you can select your size.

– apparently it can also automatically memorize your prefered cup size.

– It comes with a water tank at the back, so not in your face.

– The milk frother makes perfect (120ml) froth within 60-90 seconds. You can heat the froth as well, for 240ml it will take 120-180 seconds.

– It is extremely easy to clean, probably one of the easiest machines.

– The machine also indicate when the water runs low and when the empty pods container are full.

There are many more specs, these stood out to me. The design is sleek and pretty, something you won’t mind standing on a counter top. It will make your kitchen look even better.

What is my overall feel? I love the machine and wish I had one. It is really good coffee at the press of a button with no effort to clean. What do I miss? I miss coffee beans! Opening a bag of freshly roasted coffee beans, grinding them and hearing the sound of them bursting releasing fabulous flavours filling the kitchen. I miss the rusticness of coffee-making with the best aromatic smells, which all prepares you for the coffee you can soon expect to enjoy. But – having said this, this machine is an absolute pleasure to use especially if you have a busy lifestyle.

Then the other thought that I can not help to think is, what a waste? The pods come in beautiful packaging, a treat to open and use. So I get it, it is part of the treat. But for every cup of coffee made the foil packaging of a pod goes to waste. Where does this end up? When I make plunger or bialetti coffee I give the used ground coffee to my mother who works it into her compost hole in the garden which then ends up being used as fertilizer in the garden. Just something to linger on.

I hope you enjoyed my review. It truly is an enjoyable machine to use, wish I could have a Nespresso coffee right now!

M@Home

*PS since I’ve written this article I saw yesterday in the Nespresso shops they have booklets promoting recycling of their pods! Way to go!

Nespresso Coffee

Nespresso Coffee

Milk frother

Milk frother

Nespresso coffee

Nespresso coffee

Coffee with froth

Coffee with froth

