Product review – garlic press – Jamie Oliver range

Jamie Oliver garlic press

Jamie Oliver garlic press

I enjoy using my garlic press from the Jamie Oliver range. I will give a brief product review with some positives as well as negatives. Hope this helps you in deciding whether to buy or not.

When it comes to kitchen utensils I love pretty ones, they make the less ‘enjoyable’ tasks more enjoyable. Such as opening cans, pressing garlic, mashing potatoes, etc. Then, secondly, it needs to be practical. It should do the job it was designed for and do it well, otherwise it is useless and just takes up drawer space. Then thirdly it should last and not break quickly as so many utensils are wonderful, and then become your worst nightmare within weeks. (I know nr 1 and 2 should be swopped, but the product will catch my eye on looks first, I will not buy it how ever if it works poorly.)

Taking my personal guidelines into consideration this is my experience on using my Jamie Oliver garlic press: (I have had it for a year and a half now)

1. Design, sleek clean design, it is easy on the eye, nice to look at.

2. Usability, it is very easy to use, peel the garlic and put it into one of the two sections. The one slice it into thin straight slices, the other crushes into small cubes. I do sometimes find that the bigger garlic cloves are too big and needs to be cut in half before being able to press. That is not a big problem for me so it does not effect me negatively. The other thing I picked up is that if I try and press every little bit of garlic out of the clove it gets very difficult to clean as everything is stuck in the small holes. I have found pressing the garlic only once, maybe a second time makes it easy to just pull out the leftover garlic to discard. It will be spotless inside and you can just rinse it clean. The handle is smooth and does not hurt your hand when pressing the garlic.

3. Durability. I have only had the garlic press for a year and a half, it has lasted well, no metal rubbed off, both parts are still connected which I know break a lot of times with garlic presses. I have only washed the press in a basin, never in a dishwasher, not sure how the material will react to that.

From the above you will see that I am impressed with my press. Even more so since figuring out that it is easier to clean when only pressing garlic once, not having everything stuck to it needing a toothpick to get it clean. Before realising that I ended up rather cutting the garlic with a knife as it was less of a mission to clean.

I would say if you consider buying the press, just think twice about the size of it. Will it be a problem for you to have to slice the bigger cloves in halves or not? Not a deal breaker at all.

I love using the press as it is easy, quick and esthetically nice.

M@Home

Jamie Oliver garlic press

Jamie Oliver garlic press

Inside - two sections, slicing or crushing

Inside – two sections, slicing or crushing

Garlic Press

Garlic Press

Garlic Press

Garlic Press

