Béchamel sauce – white sauce

Preparing Béchamel sauce

Preparing Béchamel sauce

This is such a basic recipe for a sauce that you can use for a whole variety of different dishes. It is a must know to everyone. I must say, I am a white sauce fan.

I know the recipe usually includes chopped onions, I am not adding this as I prefer to add onions to the dish that I am preparing.

The sauce goes perfectly well with pastas, as a sauce for a burger, with vegetables, in filled pancakes (crepes) and make a wonderful basic for macaroni and cheese. It is extremely versatile. You can also add your own flavours and herbs to the sauce.

Béchamel sauce – makes 2 cups, takes about 20-30 minutes

Ingredients

– 1/2 to 2 heaped tablespoons of butter (unsalted is preferred, but I never have in my fridge so I use salted)

– 60g flour (all-purpose flour)

– 2 cups milk

– salt and pepper to taste

Method

1. Melt butter over medium heat.

2. Add flour and stir through until it is absorbed by butter.

3. Add milk, stir continuously, a whisk works well, I used a spoon as I’m not a whisk fan. You can add the milk by adding bits at a time and make sure to stir away all lumps of flour.

4. Continue to stir over low heat until the sauce thickens, add salt and pepper to taste.

You can add cheese for a cheese sauce, mushrooms for a mushroom sauce, it is a great basic sauce to experiment with. You can keep it in the fridge for a few days to use with different meals as well.

I made a smaller amount of the sauce in the pictures, so do note the quantities might look different. You will find you don’t need the measurements and will be able to go on gut feeling.

See this basic tuna pasta recipe where Béchamel sauce works wonderful.

Enjoy your cooking

M@Home

Melt butter

Melt butter

Add flour

Add flour

Stir until all flour is absorbed by the butter

Stir until all flour is absorbed by the butter

Preparing Béchamel sauce - adding milk

Preparing Béchamel sauce – adding milk

Mix until all lumps are out of the sauce

Mix until all lumps are out of the sauce

Stir over low heat until sauce thickens - continue to stir out lumps of flour

Stir over low heat until sauce thickens – continue to stir out lumps of flour

Béchamel Sauce

Béchamel Sauce

