Easy Tuna pasta with Béchamel sauce

Tuna pasta with Béchamel sauce

Tuna pasta with Béchamel sauce

This dish is one of my go-to dishes, when I realize it is time to go shopping before I can cook, as I always have these basics in my cupboards and the fridge. I add a Béchamel sauce (white sauce) to the dish which gives it a delicious taste.

TUNA PASTA

Ingredients

– pasta (I prefer using the small ones looking like little shells)

– 1/2 onion – sliced and cut into thirds

– 1/2 green pepper – sliced and cut into thirds

– 2 teaspoons chopped peppadews

– 1 can tuna drained (I prefer the ones in salt water instead of oil)

– béchamel sauce (Recipe for Béchamel sauce)

– salt and pepper (I used a lemon pepper spice mix)

– parsley chopped

– scoop butter

– olive oil

– I added a can of smoked mussels – but you can leave this out

Method

1. firstly put the pasta to a boil. Wait until water is boiling, add a dash of salt and olive oil (this will prevent the pasta from sticking to each other). Add the pasta (I added about 200g dried pasta). You will know the pasta is ready when you can cut through it easily but it is still firm (called al dente). Throw in a strainer and rinse under cold water, this will prevent it from further cooking in the steam and becoming mush, will also help preventing stickiness.

2. melt butter in a pot over medium heat, add onions to sauté and shortly after adding the onions add the green peppers, I find if you wait until the onions are ready they will burn before you finished preparing your meal.

3. add the peppadews and tuna and mix through.

4. add the cooked pasta and mix through.

5. add salt and pepper. (as mentioned I used a lemon pepper spice which goes well with the fish)

6. you can add something interesting like smoked mussels, it is not necessary however, the taste of the dish on its own is delicious.

7. add the béchamel sauce – I started to prepare this while sautéing the onions and green peppers.

8. mix all through, add chopped parsley for presentation.

It is quick and easy as you always have these ingredients and no need for shopping. I trust you will enjoy this tasty, cheap and easy meal.

M@Home

Bring pasta to a boil

Bring pasta to a boil

Strain pasta and rinse with cold water

Strain pasta and rinse with cold water

Sauté onions and green peppers

Sauté onions and green peppers

Add peppadews

Add peppadews

Add tuna

Add tuna

Add pasta and mix through

Add pasta and mix through

Add mussels

Add mussels

Mix through

Mix through

Add béchamel sauce

Add béchamel sauce

Add salt and pepper and chopped parsley

Add salt and pepper and chopped parsley

