Growing tomatoes – update

Tomatoes - 'wet' seeds planted in black pot, 'dried' seeds planted in blue pot 3 weeks later

Tomatoes – ‘wet’ seeds planted in black pot, ‘dried’ seeds planted in blue pot 3 weeks later

I am so far behind in posts with this Christmas season it is not even funny. This is a quick update on the growth of our tomatoes, you can read my first post here. I will also write a post on the replanting of them in the next few days. I must say I am very impressed with their growth and how easy the process has been. No reasons out there not to plant and enjoy your own food!

As mentioned in my first post, I used cherry tomatoes which I bought at a local retailer (I picked ones I enjoy in taste, shape and size). I squished out the pits (seeds), half of it directly into the soil, other half onto a serviette to first let it dry. It took quite a few weeks for the ‘wet’ seeds to start to grow – you will see they are the larger plants in the photos. Then when they successfully started to grow I planted the serviette with the dried seeds, it took about 2 weeks, so except for the drying time. I planted the seeds on the paper serviette as it will decompose in the soil. The time for the seeds to start grow was much quicker. I did not leave the seeds for a year as I did not have the patience.

The way I planted the seeds were quite on top of each other as it was only an experiment and I will have to replant the seeds and space them. You can see in the pictures some of the seeds produced nice big strong plants, really looking forward to a beautiful harvest. Amazing how much they have grown since my previous post.

Do read my previous post on growing tomatoes in containers for further details on growing the seeds.

Enjoy growing food to eat!

M@Home

See update on replanting tomatoes here.

Tomato seeds - dried onto a serviette - planted with serviette

Tomato seeds – dried onto a serviette – planted with serviette

Tomatoes grown from seeds directly squished out of the tomato into the soil

Tomatoes grown from seeds directly squished out of the tomato into the soil

Tomatoes - seeds first dried on serviette before planted

Tomatoes – seeds first dried on serviette before planted

