Seared Salmon with Lemon Thyme

Seared salmon with lemon thyme

Seared salmon with lemon thyme

When I think of Salmon I get completely excited and any food thought after that is a bit of a let down. Therefor, do not find it strange that in the short while that I have been blogging I will now post my second Salmon recipe. Yes, I know there are lots of other food to write about, but it is Salmon and deserves all the shine.

As I have mentioned in my previous post, you can read the recipe on plain Seared Salmon here, I believe it is best seared and you will also find a recipe to a great sauce by following that post, a honey-soya-balsamic sauce that complements the fish wonderfully.

The only twist I have added to this recipe is adding the herb lemon thyme. It looks beautiful and the lemon taste goes perfect with the fish. A definite winner.

SEARED SALMON WITH LEMON THYME

Try to use fresh salmon fillet (not frozen before), bones picked. You can use it with or without skin, I enjoy it with the skin.

Make sure the fish is at room temperature before you sear it. If you are going for a very quick sear with the inside raw you don’t want it refrigerator cold as it will not have enough time on the pan to heat up in the center.

Take sea salt and rub it in on both sides – this will be a bit crunchy when eating, we love it, but if you don’t, then take a salt that is a little bit less rough.

Heat your pan to high heat. We used a griddle pan and sprayed it with spray & cook – no butter or oil used.

Place fish on pan once ready, add the lemon thyme on top of the fish, you can place it beneath as well (you can twist the herbs in your hands a bit beforehand to release some of the flavour by cracking the leaves) – now you need to be quick, turn the fish quickly until it is cooked to your perfection. My husband eats his quite raw, I prefer the flesh a little bit more opaque, the longer you keep it on the pan the more cooked it will be.

It is that easy, really quick and tastes perfectly. I served the Salmon with the Lemon Thyme still on top of it as I liked the way it looks. Obviously you don’t eat the sticks,so you can either remove it before serving or just remove before eating.

The perfect side dishes to this meal would be Sweet potato mash and Stir-fried green beans with sesame seeds.

Do enjoy experimenting!

M@Home

Place Lemon Thyme on top of Salmon as well as below.

Place Lemon Thyme on top of Salmon as well as below.

Seared Salmon with Lemon Thyme

Seared Salmon with Lemon Thyme

I prefer my Salmon more opaque. You can serve it with the Lemon Thyme or remove it before serving.

I prefer my Salmon more opaque. You can serve it with the Lemon Thyme or remove it before serving.

