Stargazer lily in full bloom – update

Stargazer Lily

Stargazer Lily

It has been the biggest treat to see my Stargazer lily come out to bloom after waiting for more than a year. It really is worth it to keep those potted plants you get as gifts, even if you just stick the bulbs in the ground between other plants to hide the ’empty patch of soil’ you get with a pot plant without plant…

You can read my previous post here on when I first got the plant and how long it took to grow again. I did not think I will get a ‘rebloom.’ Was totally worth the wait.

If you followed my posts on the aphids that attacked my container garden (you can find it here) you would know that my plants suffered a lot. I only found about 1 – 3 of them on the lily, but this lily took forever to open after it has formed. It started to grow and break through the ground beginning of October, the flower only opened middle of January. What was quite interesting was that the bulb formed, but stayed green, only after we got rid of all the aphids it started to show colour and open. It might just be by chance, but I do believe the plant tried to protect its flower. As all the shops sold their Stargazer lilies in October/November, so this one was really late. It might also be that my plant just started to grow very late.

I would suggest to move the plant into your house when it blooms, as this flower bloomed very late it was much warmer than the normal conditions it grows in. The flower got burned by the sun and lasted quite shortly against the previous year when I kept them indoors.

Think twice next time when you get a flower pot plant as a gift that wilts away to only a pot of soil – in a year’s time it will be a treat to watch it grow and bloom!

M@Home

Stargazer Lily

Stargazer Lily

