My notebook and I

IMG_0044bc

It has been a while since I have written a post. Call it writers block or indecisiveness. I remember my art teacher’s saying, during our drawing classes we would often find ourselves staring at the white clean page too hesitant to start, she would say make a mark or a blot and just start. Once there is a spot the ice has been broken. So I guess now that I have made my blot on the page I can continue.

We have moved house recently. The move was quite a thing and very hard work, but all went well and we found ourselves packed out and settled quite quickly. We are in love with our home, the peace and quiet it offers and the wonderful natural light (it is autumn and cold so this is a treat at the moment). It is perfect for us now for where we currently find ourselves in our lives. Safe, peaceful, spacious enough and easy enough to maintain and lock up and go, so not too big.

As anyone that has ever into their very own place would know the house comes with so much more unforeseen ‘projects’ that one is kept quite busy for much longer (I hear actually forever) than expected. It is extremely enjoyable and we love doing things in and around the house, but that is one of the major reasons that I have not had time to sit down and blog.  I am also afraid I have developed a bit of a problem with my mind wondering off to our home constantly, wanting to sit somewhere in the sun and enjoy coffee and scones or to think of possible projects to do or to actually have the time to do the ones thought out already. Not a bad problem I would say, but one where I need to sort myself out quickly as life does not stop and wait, normal 8-5 work continues!

I find myself these days walking around with my little ‘rediscovered’ notebook (gift from a special friend) and writing down ideas constantly. It is a treat. Something I have always wanted to do but never followed through. It is a plain simple white notebook, thin, easy to slip into my handbag and carry around and NO it is not a Diary, but I enjoy how it look so it make it even more enjoyable using it. It also helps me to remember those wonderful ideas that normally get lost.

I guess what I am trying to say is that I have been missing in action, I know. Life is steam rolling ahead, but amidst all the chaos I try to take life in and to capture what stands out and bring it into our home and our lives. To leave something beautiful in the spaces that fill our home and it takes time.

I found this quote that I think is very appropriate: “My ideas usually come not at my desk writing, but in the midst of living.” Anais Nin

I look forward to sharing more on this blog and to get back to posting more as I do miss it.

M@Home

