Red pepper, kidney bean and tomato soup

Red pepper, kidney beans and tomato soup

Red pepper, kidney beans and tomato soup

I admit it, I am a soup lover! I know it is not everyone’s favourite dish, but it definitely is one of mine. Then again, I pretty much love all things food! Just to explain myself I find it comforting to have a warm bowl of steaming deliciousness in my hands when it is freezing cold outside, top that with a glass of red wine and candlelight – perfect!

We have experienced quite a chilly winter so far and soup has been high on our list. I must guiltily admit that I stay with my few favourite recipes and definitely need to venture onto more unknown turf. Watch this space. Below you will find the recipe for Red pepper, kidney bean and tomato soup. A perfect spicy combination – surprising perhaps. My husband is crazy about this recipe which is great as it is completely vegetarian! He will eat this for lunch, dinner and not complain about eating the same thing repeatedly even more surprising with no meat.

I got this recipe from a friend, who changed it from the original recipe and I have changed the quantities a little bit so that I can add a whole tin of beans or a whole carton of tomato soup for instance. I hate being stuck with little bits of left over ingredients that I do not normally use when cooking. I do not like wasting food. As you can see I do not have the original source of this recipe.

Also – it is so easy and no peeling! Something you do not get spared of often when cooking soup. You have to chop the peppers however, but that is no effort against peeling butternuts or hundreds of potatoes!

Ingredients – Serves about 4

– oil

– garlic

– 1 big onion diced

– 2 red bell peppers diced (can add a small red chilli or 2)

– 400g red kidney beans (drained) (I use double)

– 750ml tomato juice

– 2tbl spoons sweet chilli sauce

– salt & pepper

– fresh coriander leaves

– plain yogurt

Method About 30min

1. Sauté onions & garlic.

2. Add red peppers (& chilli), sauté until soft

3. Add rest of ingredients (except coriander & yogurt) cook for 20 min.

4. Blend fine

5. Serve and garnish

Serve with a bit of plain yogurt and fresh coriander leaves. They complement the spiciness wonderfully and the coriander leaves give an extra delicious dimension to the dish. It is also a good idea to serve the soup with warm bread and real butter.

This also makes a delicious starter!

Enjoy this one! It is a real treat.

M@Home

PS – SEE THIS RECIPE FEATURED HERE

Sauté onions and garlic

Sauté onions and garlic

Red peppers

Red peppers

Add red peppers and chilli

Add red peppers and chilli

Chilli

Chilli

Add everything else

Add everything else

Cook for 20 min and then blend (this picture is before blending)

Cook for 20 min and then blend (this picture is before blending)

Serve with plain yogurt and fresh coriander leaves

Serve with plain yogurt and fresh coriander leaves

This recipe goes well with fresh warm bread and real butter

This recipe goes well with fresh warm bread and real butter

Red pepper, kidney beans and tomato soup

Red pepper, kidney beans and tomato soup

