My favourite – Baked Vanilla Cheesecake – recipe from Jamie Oliver

Baked Vanilla Cheesecake

Baked Vanilla Cheesecake

I have a soft spot for baked cheesecake. It was my preferred cake since I can remember, quite odd for a girl in primary school at the time I must say… Two years ago I baked my first cheesecake and it has been perfect and delicious every time since then.

I found this recipe in my Jamie Oliver cookbook under the title Bloomin’ Easy Vanilla Cheescake – I cannot say it better myself. I have never made the cherry compote included in the recipe in the book as I decorate my cheesecakes with fresh berries or a flower and some castor sugar.

Ingredients

-150g unsalted butter, melted (plus extra for greasing)

-250g digestive biscuits, crushed

-115g caster sugar

-3 tablespoons cornflour

-900g full-fat cream cheese, at room temperature (I cannot find full fat anywhere, so I use low fat)

-2 large eggs

-115ml double cream (whenever I make the recipe I use a full can, 250ml as I do not like to be stuck with leftover bits, I have also swopped the double cream for plain fresh cream, but have found the cake tends to crack when I do that, I do prefer the taste that is less rich however)

-1vanilla pod, scored lengthways and seeds removed, or 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

-zest of 1 lemon

-zest of 1 orange

Method

1. preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and line the bottom and sides of a 24cm springform cake tin.

2. Mix the melted butter and crushed biscuits. Press into the base of the cake tin. Cook for 10min, allow to cool.

3. Turn oven up to 200 degrees Celsius.

4. Mix the sugar and cornflower in a bowl. Add the cream cheese. Beat with electrical whisk until creamy.

5. Add the eggs and beat through.

6. Gradually add the cream, beat until smooth.

7. Beat in the vanilla seeds/extract, lemon and orange zest.

8. Scrape the mixture into the springform tin onto the biscuits. Gently shake the tin with the mixture to level out the surface.

9. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes until the top is golden brown and the filling has set around the edges. (you can cover with foil to prevent browning). Make sure to place the tin in the centre of the oven. I always place my cake tin onto a flat baking tray as the butter melts and sometimes runs through the springform pan which creates a terrible mess at the bottom of your oven.

10. Let it cool for 2 – 3 hours at room temperature. Place in fridge for a firmer texture.

Serving: You can make a compote to cover the cake with. I usually serve with fresh berries, or place a flower on top and cover with fine castor sugar. Some people like to serve it with fresh cream, but this cake is very rich and I cannot eat cream with it.

I do hope you try this recipe! It is divine and easy!

M@Home

Melt butter and add to crushed biscuits for base, bake for 10 min at 180 degrees Celsius

Melt butter and add to crushed biscuits for base, bake for 10 min at 180 degrees Celsius

Whip Cream cheese and cream

Whip Cream cheese and cream

Add eggs

Add eggs

Beat until smooth

Beat until smooth

Orange and Lemon Zest

Orange and Lemon Zest

Chop it finer

Chop it finer

Fine Lemon and Orange Zest

Fine Lemon and Orange Zest

Add Vanilla seeds/extract, Orange and Lemon zest

Add Vanilla seeds/extract, Orange and Lemon zest

Add mixture to springfold tin, place on a flat baking tray to make sure it doesn't mess in oven.

Add mixture to springform tin, place on a flat baking tray to make sure it doesn’t mess in oven.

Cheese cake ready

Cheese cake ready

Serve with fresh berries

Serve with fresh berries

Baked Vanilla Cheesecake

Baked Vanilla Cheesecake

Vanilla Cheesecake, served with berries

Vanilla Cheesecake, served with berries

Baked Vanilla Cheesecake

Baked Vanilla Cheesecake

