Oh Happy Day

Protea Flower

Protea Flower

“The Earth Laughs in Flowers.” Ralph Waldo Emerson. I have a ceramic bowl with this quote on it and ever since it has stuck to my mind. Do you not think it is absolutely true? Not only do I think earth shows of with her beautiful flowers, but they bring a smile to our faces and brighten up our moods. Flowers make me feel happy…therefore I chose this subject as “Oh Happy Day.”

I am not going to write a long post, I will only mention that I am focusing on thinking more positive and happy thoughts, funny I guess, but this winter is depressingly cold! The flower in the picture is called a Protea. If you are not familiar with it, they are indigenous to South Africa, it is a beautiful yet hardened flower and can survive any hard conditions (I guess a bit like us South Africans). I read that the flower was named after the ‘Greek god’ Proteus who was believed could change his form at will, you find so many different shapes of Protea flowers – therefore the name.

The flowers in this picture has been in a vase in my house for almost three weeks now – amazing! Such a treat. I believe, if possible, we must surround ourselves with beautiful (and practical my husband would say) things. Not only does it make you happy, it encourages creativity and let us feel calm and postive.

I hope you enjoyed this short yet hopefully informative post.

M@Home

