Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

It is spring in South Africa, but winter has decided to linger a little longer, so I have grabbed the opportunity to make soup, probably for the last time this year. I made pea soup, this recipe is very easy and extremely delicious!

Firstly you might realise that I have not posted regularly lately. I have been busy in our garden over weekends, in the evenings, it has been quite a job, but we have enjoyed every second of it. Other than gardening we had a deadline for end of the month (today) to get quite a few photo albums done that we have bought vouchers for before going away on holiday. What can I say – never again do I want to work against such a deadline. I must say that when we bought the vouchers little did we know what we would end up doing in our garden.

Back to the soup. This winter I enjoyed several soups, but when I got lazy I would go to our local retailer and buy their soup of the day. It used to be delicious and you could even get away with it pretending it is home made. This year however I kept on ‘catching’ them on their pea soup day (it has never been a favourite) and it is extremely peppery. you can see the pepper in the soup it is that bad. The soup is also thin and watery, not very filling. The last straw was when I bought batch three (and caught yet another pea soup day) we got a massive piece of meat in the soup, pork which is yummy, but this piece of meat was pretty much 90% fat. I believe YUCK would be appropriate here. Needless to say, I was cured of my laziness. I grabbed my mother’s recipe book and found a pea soup recipe (I still believe this was the first time I tasted her recipe, but she begs to differ, it must have been a few years back at least then as I cannot think I would have forgotten the taste of this one!).

The one thing you need to be warned about is this recipe smells odd when cooking; it has a very strong celery, pea and onion smell, really strong. Once cooked and blended it smells and tastes heavenly! So you might want to get the heavy cooking part done before guests arrive.

Ingredients

Part A

1 packet of dry split green peas (no soaking must be necessary)

1 packet of bacon, cubed

1 onion sliced/cubed

4 celery sticks, sliced

2 large potatoes, cubed

2 liters of boiling water

Part B

1 tbsp white sugar

1 tbsp brown onion vinegar (it will give the soup a bit more of a brown colour. I only had white vinegar and used that)

1 tbsp mustard powder

bay leaves

3 chicken stock cubes

salt and pepper

Part C

250ml fresh cream (you can leave this to keep the recipe more healthy)

fresh chopped parsley leaves

Method

  1. Rinse the peas
  2. Cook Part A ingredients together in a large pot until soft (this takes a while)
  3. Blend until smooth
  4. Add Part B ingredients
  5. Add extra water if necessary (I made quite a thick soup, but it is very nice smoother as well)
  6. Add a cup of fresh cream before serving (you can leave this to keep the recipe more healthy)
  7. When serving add freshly ground black pepper and some fresh chopped parsley leaves

It goes well with warm baked bread with melting butter (real butter, no margarine).

I do hope you enjoy this one!

M@Home

Dried peas

Dried peas

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

Pea Soup

