Fruit and Veggie inspiration

Fruit and Vegetable inspiration

Fruit and Vegetable inspiration

Het jy jouself al vind staan voor ‘n rak gevul met vars groente by jou plaaslike markie, gevries, jy staan letterlik en verstaar jou? Have you ever cought yourself in the veggie isle at your local market just standing, staring? Almost in a daze.  [Full Afrikaans article followed by full English article in Italics]

AFRIKAANS

Dit is nogal ‘n goeie beskrywing vir meeste van my besoeke aan die mark / winkel. Daar is iets omtrent vars, plaaslik gegroeide groente wat my gedagtes vasvang en dan begin prikkel met beloftes van belowende resepte.

Buiten lekker resepte is die groente dikwels net pleinweg mooi vir my. My man sal nou lekker lag vir my, of dalk eerder huil as hy besef ek dink oor groente soos ek dink oor ‘n meubelstuk. Wat help dit meubels is prakties as dit nie mooi is nie? Wel, dieselfde geld vir my met groente, die mooi of uniekheid vang eers my aandag, dan begin ek aan die praktiese sy dink, hoe eet mens dit, hoe maak mens dit gaar, is dit lekker?

Na so ‘n besoek aan ons markie het ek by die huis gekom met ‘n hele boks vol groente en vrugte en skielik tot die besef gekom, hoe gaan ons twee dit alles op eet voor dit begin sleg word? Die maklike antwoord, ‘n groot pot vegetariese kerrie! Ek sal die resep op ‘n latere stadium deel.

Normaalweg is ek haastig om die kos weg gepak te kry en aan die kook te kom, maar vandag het die lig so mooi geskyn dat ek losgetrek het met foto’s neem. Ek deel dus vandag die foto’s met julle, ‘n resep sal later volg.

Geniet
M@Home

ENGLISH

Have you ever cought yourself in the veggie isle at your local market just standing, staring? Almost in a daze.

This is quite an accurate description of most of my visits to the market. There is something about fresh, locally grown vegetables that catches my attention, it promises recipes that come alive in my mind.

Despite all the delicious recipes, I find vegetables gorgeous, yes just plain pretty. My husband would have a laugh or rather a cry should he realise that I buy vegetables almost like I would buy furniture. Looks first then practicality. What is the use of a piece of furniture if it is not pretty, if it is really ugly practicality helps nothing (vice versa I know..). Well, same goes when I buy vegetables, the interesting look and unique colours first captures my attention, then only will I start to think of the practical use. How would one eat this, how should it be cooked, does it taste good?

I got home with a box full of veggies after such a visit to our market and realised that I have no idea how the two of us will finish all before it start to go bad. The easy answer – vegetable curry – I will share this recipe with you in the near future.

Usually I am in quite a hurry to get the food packed away and start cooking supper, but today the light was shining brightly and before I knew it I started taking photos. I am sharing my vegetable photos with you today (hope you don’t mind), the recipe I will share at a later stage.

Enjoy
M@Home

Fruit and Vegetable inspiration

Fruit and Vegetable inspiration

Nartjies / tangerines

Nartjies / tangerines

Turnips - Raap

Turnips – Raap

Oranges - Lemoene

Oranges – Lemoene

Aubergine - brinjal - eiervrug

Aubergine – brinjal – eiervrug

Nartjies - Tangerines

Nartjies – Tangerines

Turnips - Raap

Turnips – Raap

Fruit and Veg bowl

Fruit and Veg bowl